September 11th, 2009
Since long before any states had legislation to give piercers guidance, I always enforced a strong policy about piercing minors: Without exception, the parent or legal guardian must be present with the minor to sign the release form. Each party must have a valid photo ID* . If the parent's last name and/or address is different from the minor's, there must be legal documentation to prove the relationship. (Birth certificate, divorce papers, adoption papers, marriage certificate). Court papers are required to prove a relationship with a legal guardian. • I do not pierce minors below the neck with the exception of the navel. I will pierce earlobes only, on individuals between 12 and 16 years of age. •I will not pierce children under the age of 12. • If you are under 18 but legally married I can pierce you in the state of Louisiana. You need to bring your marriage license along with valid photo ID*. • If you are a legally emancipated minor I can pierce you in the state of Louisiana. You need to bring court papers along with a valid photo ID*. Some problems I have found with piercing minors:
November 29th, 2008
I periodically get questions about age limits for piercings, and I got one today:
How old does a piercee have to be to get nipple piercings done?
To get nipple piercings, or any below-the-neck piercing other than a navel, the piercee would have to be 18 years of age or older. For other piercings such as the navel or above-the-neck areas, it depends on local laws and the ethics and policies of the piercer. That said, there is no federal legislation about body piercings; states and localities handle their own regulations. The extent of the laws varies widely, and some areas don't have any legislation regarding piercing at all! There are other laws that could be applied to piercing, however. For example, a parent who gives permission for her minor child to get an adult piercing (such as nipples or genitals) could be charged with reckless endangerment of a minor. The piercer could also face these charges for performing the piercing, even if the parent "gave permission." The policy I used for my studio is below: